Google toolbar changes

Is it just me, or did Google just sneak in some toolbar changes? My custom toolbar still looks normal on Firefox, but in Internet Explorer 8 all my buttons are hidden, irrespective of whether or not I enable them. I logged out and in again, reinstalled the toolbar, reset all the settings, still the same. Hmm…

    • Damian Szigeti
    • April 27th, 2011

    I see the same … highly annoying … annoying enough to want to change away from the Google toolbar … not sure I can do it though …

  1. Interesting, I found this unofficial blog that reports the same issue and refers to one of Google’s own help article entitled “Where did my buttons go.” Very sneaky to say the least. How about I get to decide which (unused) buttons I want to hide? That was annoying enough on Windows XP.

    • Frank
    • April 28th, 2011

    Same custom button issue for me. I upgraded to IE 9 (from IE 8) and it persists there too. Very annoying as I only use 4 custom buttons which I would like to stick.

  2. It’s not just you! The new changes are SUPER ANNOYING, not to mention unnecessary, and unhelpful. Why would I want a tool bar that is going to go all the way across my browser window, but have buttons hidden under a single arrow??? If anyone figures out a solution to this, please let me know!

    • Frank
    • May 14th, 2011

    OK, my Google Toolbar custom buttons have now (5/14/2011) reverted back to what I want: my 4 default custom buttons appear on start up of IE 8 and stick. Yippee!

  3. I think they come back once you start using them again… I for one am still missing the page rank button; it won’t come back even if I enable it under Options. Hm…

    • Duncan Collins
    • August 27th, 2011

    I just opened my Google hompage and it wouldn’t let me continue until I clicked OK to a toolbar installation i don’t want. I reckon in the UK that’s an illegal restraint on trade and abuse of a dominat market position. I was forced to accept or not be able to function. Deep in the small print there does appear to be a means to disable it but once into my system will it ever actually leave? I doubt it

  4. I wish there was an alternative to Google Toolbar… But so far it’s the user friendliest shared toolbar I could find. Firefox above Version 4 no longer supports it, so I rolled back from Version 6 to Version 4. Plus, all the changes Google keep making that are not for the better. Hmpf… Maybe we should create a start-up and just develop our own toolbar :)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

